download database as .gpx or csv?

Suggestions for WiGLE/JiGLE/DiGLE

11 posts • Page 1 of 1

Postby dargo » Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:29 pm

Hi every one!

I'm a Phd Student at George Mason University and I'm trying to do a research project on WiFi encryption but I need to figure out a way to download chunks of the data in a way that preserves the latitude and longitude coordinates as well as the network names and encryption status. Does WiGLE have a way to download the data in any format other than geo/meta? Is there a way to convert geo/meta data into gpx or csv?

Thanks!

Postby gelosan » Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:50 am

Same problem here
Hi, yes very good point. In fact how do I download wifi location points for the UK?
Check out our JiGLE java client, it may help you on your pursuits.
-bobzilla - WiGLE.net just a little bit
Bobzilla,
Much obliged! I've tried the client today but after specifying several sizes of area in the UK (via modifying the map pack file lat/longs) jigle/ digle only seems to return 10000 results per query! Is this a limitation of the software or am I doing something wrong?

Kind regards,
Tom

Postby bobzilla » Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:34 pm

There are technical limits to prevent abuse. Repeated queries will populate more, up to a point.

Postby zenzen » Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:49 am

There are technical limits to prevent abuse. Repeated queries will populate more, up to a point.
What sort of abuse?

I came over to the forums to ask a very similar question about the data (CSV, whatever, give out a real format, or point to ways of parsing what you do give out) - I read that nothing is thrown away, but you can get only fragments of it.

You also - apparently - can't get historical data.

Can you point to a document that says what is or isn't allowed?

And if legitimate researchers can't have the data, who can?