Questions from a newbie

The gear needed for wardriving

20 posts • Page 1 of 2

Postby drgibson » Mon Apr 19, 2004 10:27 pm

Hey, I'll admit it, I'm a newbie around here and I don't yet understand the lingo. I read about this site in PCWorld and I have a wireless router at home, at my office AND at my dad's house. Believe it or not, THEY ALL WORK!! I also think they are all secure but that's part of why I came here. I want to be sure that wardriver can't log onto one of my networks and do some damage, although I find the wardriver games quite interesting as I have heard of them. A few days ago, I installed Netstumbler onto my laptop and that has certainly been interesting to turn it on in different places and see what pops up, although I don't understand everything I am seeing. So, my questions are many, I'll hold it to two at the moment.
1. I understand there is information here about "hotspots" that are basicly open for public use, whether they were intended that way or not. How do I find those?
2. Is there a way to better understand Netstumblers info? The help files seem to be non-existant.
3. OK, I lied, one more. Do good members here upload info obtained with Netstumber or another product for sharing? I get the impression from looking around here that they do . . . which is where the info in question #1 comes from I suppose???
Be kind to me. I speak English and some Geek but not a lot.
David

Postby uhtu » Mon Apr 19, 2004 10:53 pm

Thanks for showing an interest in our project!

1. WiGLE provides a graphical view of networks observed from the real world. This is NOT a licence to use a network (only the network owner can give you that right.), We're just mapping what people have seen in passing. Things that are being broadcast into the world.

2. http://www.netstumbler.com/ is a great resource for netstumbler.