Hello From the Flint, MI area

Wardrivers: find others in your area

18 posts • Page 1 of 2

Postby eldorf » Wed May 17, 2006 5:51 pm

Hellow from the Flint, Michigan area. I just got me a GPS (the pharos iGPS-360 that comes with Microsoft Streets and Trips 2006) to use with my notebook computer (Dell Inspiron B120 w/ an internal Dell Wireless 1370 WLAN Mini-PCI card). Just uploaded my first .ns1 file with the GPS coords. Hoping to get more APs logged, just need to get an external antenna to hook up to the internal Wireless card (have found a site that sells the proper pigtails for it and am planning on ordering one within the next couple weeks.)

What antenna would you gurus of wardriving recommend, a cantenna or a Omni directional, or both?

Doug

Postby Blaze312 » Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:09 pm

Hey...

I'm a war driver from the Holland, MI area...

Good to see another user capturing the points on that side of the state.

I noticed quite a few points showing up in your area. I used to live in the Bay City area so I check that area once in a while..

As for your question I dont have an answer. I am still war driving with just my standard antenna attatched to my card. Doesn't pick up near as many points as an external might but I find that my points are more accurate to their actual location this way. (Just requires driving around more side streets).

I'm at around 11,000 with just a standard wifi antenna.

Good luck on your capturing.

Peace

Postby littledave » Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:21 pm

Hey...

I'm a war driver from the Holland, MI area...

Good to see another user capturing the points on that side of the state.

I noticed quite a few points showing up in your area. I used to live in the Bay City area so I check that area once in a while..